IHMN Gothic village III

Last week I had got the point where the outer walls were complete and just needed the paint job.
The stone walls came first and rather than use up the fine figure paints I have I went to my cupboard and got out the Reeves Acrylic. These are 75ml tubes and cost a pittance compared to my usual fare. Titanium White and Mars Black mixed up roughly in unequal proportions in a small plastic tub gave me a range of greys to work with.
The first coat was the base coat of dark grey. As expected, the foam absorbed quite a bit but not as much as you might think. Once that was mostly dry I dry-brushed a lighter grey to bring our the individuals stones. The last touch was with the grey that was still streaked with a little white. This light dry-brushing, working from top of the walls to the bottom added some highlights.

20161126_102419
Although I was moderately careful in the application I did not worry if some strayed onto the woodwork as these are village houses in the Carpathian mountains, not a 19th Century English Garden Village.
I must admit being really please in how the stonework came out. The foam board technique really makes the stones look real.

20161126_102430
Then I progressed to the timber. The tip here is to use a dark paint, water it down considerably but do not overload your brush. If you do stray onto the plastered panels don’t be anxious. Also if the paint seems to be different shades leave it, it looks more naturally aged.

20161126_113249
Finally, for the base colours, I put a coloured wash on the plastered panels. Eastern europeans were not drab people, if they could add a little colour they did, so here we have some faded paintjobs that might once have been pink.
Detailing included putting some iron reinforcements on the doors and window cross slits. Also, as these people face horrors we can only imagine on a daily basis, every window is daubed with a red cross.

20161126_113243

So what do you think? I’d be glad to get some feedback on this process and perhaps some tips and tricks you use.
Next week we begin roofing this building, which is a whole other feat entirely.

About Craig

For those who need to know these things: - I'll never see 50 again. - I'm tall enough to see well in crowds and fat enough to leave a wake. - I'm well married to a woman with twice my smarts, three delightful and challenging children (er-hem), and one cat overlord. - I am Welsh. - I have to work for a living, but do nothing that makes me perspire.
This entry was posted in Craft work, In Her Majesty's Name. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IHMN Gothic village III

  1. Jeff Smith says:

    Great stuff mate.
    Nothing wrong being Welsh, and proud

    Like

  2. kmfrye says:

    Marvelous work and inspiring to boot. I might try my hand, though I would treat the foam board stone work with Windsor & Newton gesso to cut down a bit on the foam soaking up the paint.

    Like

Leave a Reply

